Saturday, November 12, 2011

The Sherlock Holmes Timeline

I’ve never found a great, comprehensive Sherlock Holmes chronology online. Not one that includes significant, non-Doyle stories, I mean. Sherlock Peoria, Smart Remarks, and the Diogenes Club all have excellent ones for the canonical stuff, but I'm also interested in knowing where Nicholas Meyer's books fit in as well as series like Larry Millet's one about Holmes in the US or Carole Nelson Douglas' about Irene Adler. If a wider-ranging timeline exists and I’m missing it, please point me towards it. In the meantime, I’m going to create my own below.

While my intention is to include a good number of non-Doyle stories, there won't be any alternate-universe versions like the Twentieth Century Fox Rathbone films or anything else that couldn’t conceivably be the exact, same character that Arthur Conan Doyle wrote about. I’ll include a permanent link on the sidebar so it’s easy to reference as I update it, but this will take a long, long time to complete. I’m not a fast reader.

Here’s what I have so far with links to my articles about each story as well as where to buy them on Amazon.

A Study in Scarlet by Arthur Conan Doyle. [article] [Amazon]
Good Night, Mr. Holmes (chapters 1-3) by Carole Nelson Douglas [article] [Amazon]

No comments:


Related Posts with Thumbnails